Vision / Model

OpenAI CLIP

Organisation
OpenAI
Family
CLIP
Released
2021-02-26 (arXiv v1 submission date (https://arxiv.org/abs/2103.00020v1). The model card gives 'Model Date: January 2021' and later checkpoint releases up to April 2022.)
Checkpoints
RN50, RN101, RN50x4, RN50x16, RN50x64, ViT-B/32, ViT-B/16, ViT-L/14, ViT-L/14@336px
Weights
Open · MIT (code and weights)
Links

Training data disclosure: Partial list

Level determined for 0% of benchmark cells.

“The model was trained on publicly available image-caption data.”
raw.githubusercontent.com · model card · Data · retrieved 2026-10-15
“We do not intend for this dataset to be used as the basis for any commercial or deployed model and will not be releasing the dataset.”
raw.githubusercontent.com · model card · Data Mission Statement · retrieved 2026-10-15

Training corpora

Benchmark cells

Industrial anomaly detection

Unknown MVTec AD · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown MVTec AD 2 · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown MVTec LOCO AD · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown VisA · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown Real-IAD · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown MPDD · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown BTAD · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Unknown KolektorSDD2 · training data not disclosed in enough detail

Notes

There was no pre-training deduplication. OpenAI chose to measure overlap afterwards instead (Section 5). The quote 'Instead, we document how much overlap occurs and how performance changes due to these overlaps.' is in Section 5. The checkpoint list comes from the model card's 'Model Versions'. All sizes share WIT.

Sources